Island In The Sun - Harry Belafonte - Musik - BEAR FAMILY - 4000127162625 - 28. Februar 2002
Bei Nichtübereinstimmung von Cover und Titel gilt der Titel

Island In The Sun

Harry Belafonte

€ 165,99


Lieferdatum: ca. 13. - 20. Dez
Weihnachtsgeschenke können bis zum 31. Januar umgetauscht werden
Tilføj til din iMusic ønskeseddel

Auch vorhanden als:

Island In The Sun

Harry Belafonte begins here! And there's a very special reason for this edition: On March, 1st the most versatile singer in popular music, and the most politically committed singer-actor in the world celebrates his 75th birthday! This outstanding singer's career began in the New York jazz clubs circa 1949, and our exclusive 5-CD set tells the story of Harry Belafonte's astonishing early career from the early jazz and pop sides for Roost, Capitol, and Jubilee (all unreissued until now and featuring the cream of New York jazzmen), to the fabulous 'Calypso' album... and beyond. Through it all, Harry Belafonte was constantly challenging himself, constantly looking for ways to introduce his ever-growing audience to the music of the world.

These five CDs include Harry Belafonte's timeless interpretations of some of the great songs of the era... and songs that you'll still hear at his concerts, including Scarlet Ribbons, Man Smart (Woman Smarter), Matilda, I'm Just A Country Boy, John Henry, Jamaica Farewell, Day-O (The Banana Boat Song), Mary's Boy Child, Haiti Cherie, Hava Nageela, Mama Look-A-Boo-Boo, and Island In The Sun. Many songs were recorded several times as Belafonte refined his approach to them, and you'll hear all the unissued versions here. You'll also hear his first five albums complete: 'Mark Twain,' 'Belafonte,' 'Calypso' (the first million-selling LP in the history of the record business!), 'An Evening With Belafonte,' and 'Sings Of The Caribbean. ' All digitally remastered from the original master tapes for the first time! The book includes striking first-person reminiscences from Harry Belafonte's associates, including calypsonian Lord Burgess and choral director Robert DeCormier, as well as from the man himself! In addition, there are many rare and unpublished photos and a full discography


Medien Musik     CD   (Compact Disc) × 5
Specielt cover Box set
Erscheinungsdatum 28. Februar 2002
EAN/UPC 4000127162625
Label BEAR FAMILY BFY16262.2
Genre Blues     Rhythm & Blues
Maße 1,87 kg


  1. 1.   CD  

    1. Lean on Me
    2. Recognition
    3. How Green Was My Valley
    4. Deep As the River
    5. They Didn't Believe Me
    6. Close Your Eyes
    7. Whispering
    8. Sometimes I Feel Like a Motherless Child
    9. I Still Get a Thrill (Thinking of You)
    10. Farewell to Arms
    11. Smoke Gets in Your Eyes
    12. The Night Has a Thousand Eyes
    13. Annabelle Lee
    14. Venezuela
    15. Simple, Simple, Simple
    16. Only One Like Me
    17. Chimney Smoke
    18. A-roving
    19. Man Smart (Woman Smarter)
    20. Jerry (This Timber Got to Roll)
    21. Scarlet Ribbons (For Her Hair)
    22. Shenandoah
    23. Man Smart (Woman Smarter)
    24. Jerry (This Timber Got to Roll)
    25. Gomen Nasai (Forgive Me)
    26. Springfield Mountain (To-roo-de-nay)
    27. Suzanne (Every Night when the Sun Goes Down)
    28. Matilda
  2. 2.   CD  

    1. Venezuela
    2. Kukla-mu
    3. Pretty As a Rainbow
    4. Acorn in the Meadow
    5. I'm Just a Country Boy
    6. Hold 'em Joe
    7. Kalenda Rock (Mourning Song)
    8. The Drummer and the Cook
    9. The Fox
    10. Delia
    11. Soldier, Soldier
    12. Lord Randall
    13. Tol' My Captain
    14. John Henry
    15. The Next Big River
    16. Mark Twain
    17. Mo Mary
    18. Man Piaba
    19. Take My Mother Home
    20. Sylvie
    21. Noah
    22. Baby Darlin'
    23. Hello Everybody
    24. Troubles
    25. Matilda
  3. 3.   CD  

    1. Man Smart (Woman Smarter)
    2. Waterboy
    3. Scarlet Ribbons
    4. Sylvie
    5. In That Great Gettin' Up Mornin'
    6. Jump Down, Spin Around
    7. Will His Love Be Like His Rum?
    8. Hosanna
    9. The Jack-ass Song
    10. Banana Boat Song (Day-o)
    11. Star-o
    12. Suzanne
    13. Unchained Melody
    14. Jamaica Farewell
    15. I Do Adore Her
    16. Dolly Dawn
    17. Brown Skin Girl
    18. Melda Massi
    19. Come Back Liza
    20. The Blues is Man, Part 1
    21. The Blues is Man, Part 2
    22. The Blues is Man, Part 3
    23. Mary's Boy Child
    24. Merci Bon Dieu
    25. Cu Cu Ru Cu Cu Paloma
  4. 4.   CD  

    1. Once Was
    2. Hava Nageela
    3. Jamaica Farewell
    4. When the Saints Go Marching in
    5. Merci Bon Dieu (From The:'haitian Suite')
    6. Once Was
    7. Hava Nageela
    8. Danny Boy
    9. The Drummer & the Cook (Cockney Air)
    10. Come O My Love
    11. Shenandoah
    12. Mary's Boy Child
    13. Cu Cu Ru Cu Cu Paloma
    14. Eden Was Like This
    15. When the Saints Go Marching in
  5. 5.   CD  

    1. Mama Look a Boo Boo
    2. Cocoanut Woman
    3. Island in the Sun
    4. Mama Look a Boo Boo
    5. Cocoanut Woman
    6. Scratch Scratch
    7. Don't Ever Love Me
    8. Cordelia Brown
    9. Island in the Sun
    10. Angelique-o
    11. Haiti Cherie
    12. Judy Drownded
    13. Lead Man Holler
    14. Love, Love Alone
    15. Lucy's Door
    16. Fifteen
    17. How Green Was My Valley
    18. The Lord is My Shepherd
    19. I'm Goin' Away
  6. 6.   CD  

    1. Book

Alle anzeigen

Weitere Titel von Harry Belafonte

Andere haben auch gekauft

Alle Titel von Harry Belafonte ansehen ( u. a. CD , LP , DVD , VINYL und Kassette )